About Us

The 4-K Club Emblem


The 4-K Club Goals

The goals reflect the government’s effort to reduce poverty, attain food security, income generation, and employment creation. The five major goals of the 4-K Club programme are as follows: 

  1. To teach the youth best agricultural practices and home management.
  2. To create an appreciation among the youth about agriculture.
  3. To supplement food and animal products for the family.
  4. To develop leadership and good citizenship among the youth.
  5. To use the youth as agents of change in terms of attitude and practices in agriculture.

A 4-K Club Member

Any girl or boy aged between 8 to 15 years in primary school qualifies to be a member of the 4-K Club. No club fees are charged, but contributions can be made, for example to buy a 4-K Club badge or inputs for their own projects. Members meet in any suitable place for example classroom, tree shade, school farm, or any other public place.

Members plan, reflect, share experiences, tour their projects and end up with recreation activities. They engage in sports and games with other members, visit other clubs, exchange visits, have competitions with others, hold field trips to farms, agricultural stations, agricultural shows and other agricultural institutions of interest

    4-K Club Characteristics

    • 4-K Clubs belong to the youth and communities.
    • Model farmers serve as leaders.
    • 4-K Clubs are for both boys and girls in primary schools.
    • Each member should have a project at home, while the club project is located in school.
    • 4-K Club projects should be implemented in collaboration with Sub-County Agricultural Extension office.
    • Agricultural extension officers assist and advise 4-K Club leaders and members.
    • No dues are charged to members; however members finance their own project and club activities 
    • 4-K Clubs are non-political, educational programmes in agriculture and related subjects.
    • 4-K Club programme is implemented throughout the country and supported by the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Cooperatives (MoALFC).